RSS

Looking for a Healthy Challah Recipe?

10 Oct

Isn’t it amazing how just a short week goes by, and yet you have so much to say?!

That’s exactly how I feel. This past week has given me an incredible amount of inspiring ideas and thoughts to blog about, but with Sukkos coming up, it aint happening. Even during Shmoneh Esrei on Yom Kippur I came up with a blog post!!! (don’t worry it was something holy and spiritual Smile)

But, the kitchen is calling my name, and I am very much enjoying spending time there, so until I am fully back at the computer, I do want to share a recipe I just made for Sukkos.

It’s a Spelt Challah recipe that I got from a woman on the Imamother.com website. I made Spelt Challah for Rosh HaShana – with zero sugar (only splenda) and while I didn’t LOVE the recipe, the effects were astronomical. My hubby and I didn’t get that gross Yom tov pigged out feeling from eating too much Challah, and there was none of that “craving” bread feeling either. We also made small round Challahs to ensure we didn’t overeat huge loaves either.

Anyway, I knew that I liked the idea of using spelt flour –and I LOVED the idea of not using sugar, so for Sukkos I tried this recipe. We had a Challah before Yom Kippur so I can vouch that its not gross and worth sharing Smile

Feel free to substitute the Honey for Splenda – or whichever you prefer. Personally, the recipe needs a bit more playing around with. I feel it needs a BIT more sweetness – but since we are dipping it into honey anyway, I wouldn’t add more to the recipe.

One more thing to add – when we made these Challahs we made them into Pumpkin Challahs!!!! Very cool Smile  we added canned Pumpkin, Cinnamon, Allspice and a little Ginger… the flavor isn’t too strong but its great.

Have a wonderful Chag – and I hope to post soon!

Spelt Challah Recipe

Yeast Bowl:
4 tbsp. yeast
2 cups warm water
a bit of honey.
Let it dissolve and set aside

Main Bowl:
2 cups water
3/4 cup honey or agave nectar –(Agave nectar is lower on the glycemic index and also makes a silkier dough)
6 eggs
1/2 cup oil
2 tbsp. salt
1 cup flax meal – opt. but great for fiber
Now add yeast mixture and then add the flour – 5 lbs. white spelt plus a bit more.
Knead and let it rise at least 1 hour.
Shape and let rise 1/2 hour and bake at 350 for 1/2 hour

(Duby’s Notes: we doubled the recipe to have enough Challah for the whole Sukkos. I’m not sure if its because we randomly doubled the recipe, or because we added the pumpkin but the dough was VERY wet and needed more than 5 lbs. Just so you should be aware)

 

DSC_0383

DSC_0384

DSC_0388

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 10, 2011 in Physical Health

 

One response to “Looking for a Healthy Challah Recipe?

Leave a comment