RSS

6 Months in Kentucky!

17 Sep

 

DSC_0084September marks our 6th month anniversary living in our new home! (and its also our 6th YEAR wedding anniversary. How cool is that?)

So, I thought it would be cool to mark down some things I’ve learned or observed from being a first time homeowner. Ya know, the fun stuff.

Turning into my Parents:

For starters – I turned into my parents IMMEDIATELY. Within the first week, I found myself walking around shutting off lights and as my dad would say “why is the front porch light on?!” I also found myself turning into my mother – scrubbing counters, spotless kitchen – as she always said “cleanliness is next to G-dliness” – I think she’d be proud that she harassed me enough that a clean and tidy home is important to one’s physical and mental health.

Neighbors can make it or break it.

Our first week was quite traumatic with our noisy neighbors. Till 3 am they were partying, drinking –and it was LOUD. However, a few weeks later, we got a letter with a huge apology. Apparently the parents were away, and the college -aged daughter took over the house. Something they swore would never happen again. But lesson learned. We dodged a bullet there!

I would also like to point out that keeping a positive relationship with said neighbors is extremely important. These are the same guys that shared their generator with us during that horrific blackout … and therefore I baked my famous Jam Squares for them to express my thanks. Like I said, your neighbors can make it or break it Smile

Yes, I Can Walk Around Naked

I often joke about this concept, walking around naked. But there really is a sense of freedom that comes along with having your own place and not worrying. Many of my friends have “open homes” where people come and go all the time, and as women they must be dressed 100% modestly at all times. Sounds more annoying than anything else if you ask me. While I do understand the virtue of having guests at this point, its not for me. So yes, if you pop by my house without warning, who knows what I’ll be wearing (or lack of J)

Utility bills aren’t as fun as I thought.

When I was 19 I had an apartment with a friend of mine and I remember our electric bill was about 30 dollars. That was QUITE a while ago. Real people bills, well, they’re nowhere NEAR 30 bucks. Ha! Although I gotta say that rent / mortgage in Kentucky isn’t as frightening as one would think.

Taking care of a yard is a LOT harder than it looks

Unless you’re a Martha Stewart with a Green Thumb, taking care of a lawn is WORK!!!! It takes time and constant maintenance. I’m not sure it’s like this in the rest of the suburban world, but here in KY – if you don’t cut your grass every week or two you’ll have a forest growing. Not only that – but you’ll get fined!!!! (wish I was kidding). My husband told me that we got a letter in the mail from the Sherriff’s department politely warning us that we had clumps of cut grass on the side of the street by our mailbox, and we need to sweep it away as it ruins the look of the neighborhood (oh and also they were concerned for safety). They sent pictures to prove that they’re watching us!

Well, I guess I can appreciate how concerned the city is with how Louisville looks and I love that people here really do care for the outdoors by planting… but we’re total newbies at this, so we’re allowing for the learning curve.

~ ~ ~ ~

Thank the One Above, the transition to Kentuckian has been going great, and the best part of course is having so many wonderfully supportive family members and community members who are there when we need.

Here’s to the next 6 months!

~ ~ ~ ~

It’s not to late to enter my 100th Post Giveaway! Click here for the details on how to enter!

DSC_0623

Can a “Yankee” girl survive in a “cardinal” world?!

 
13 Comments

Posted by on September 17, 2011 in Misc. Ramblings

 

13 responses to “6 Months in Kentucky!

  1. yossi dubov

    September 17, 2011 at 9:08 pm

    With Duby’s Plaid shirt you look the part!
    Next, take the pose standing side by side, real ma & pa (country) folks,
    don’t forget Shmully’s pitchfork!

     
  2. mrsduby

    September 17, 2011 at 9:12 pm

    we were practicing for our Shana Tova card 🙂 🙂

     
  3. Eli Spalter

    September 17, 2011 at 9:14 pm

    I WANT THE PIC!!!

     
  4. Aya

    September 17, 2011 at 9:59 pm

    loved it all, and generally it is not the city that complains about the grass but some nosy neighbor who calls it in to the city, who then is forced to check it out and send you a notice. this year our lawn has been a mess and the nighbors have been complaining. by next year I expect you and Smuelly to be wearing the right colors, Cardinal Red! go cards!

     
  5. mrsduby

    September 17, 2011 at 10:06 pm

    Thanks Aya !
    at first i thought you were going to say that by next year you expect us to be garden/lawn experts !!!!

    Oh and i JUST found out that Louisville Cardinals refers to ALL louisville teams … Football, Basketball … how confusing is that ?!

     
  6. heavy

    September 18, 2011 at 1:04 am

    awsome we really need to come visit u guys out there

     
    • mrsduby

      September 18, 2011 at 1:08 am

      shmuelly – it would be AWESOME if you guys could come for a visit … maybe later in the year once you guys are settled in your new place.

      ALthough – if you like, there are a few houses available right in our area …. hint hint hint .. (although the whole Shmully & Devorah thing might get a litlte confusing 🙂

       
  7. Jeff Slyn

    September 18, 2011 at 1:17 am

    Mazel tov on the anniversaries. Umpteen more healthy & happy ones here and together!

     
    • mrsduby

      September 18, 2011 at 1:33 am

      Thank you Jeff!
      feel free to come visit my blog more often…. would love to hear your opinions …

      Shana Tova!
      duby 🙂

       
  8. Adele

    September 18, 2011 at 1:22 am

    HA! HA! Welcome to the neighborhood and the real world! Also, thanks for the heads up about dropping by unannounced.

     
    • mrsduby

      September 18, 2011 at 1:34 am

      hi Adele,
      thank you so much for your comment! I hope you will check out my blog more often… although i hope this doesnt mean i need to censor my posts 🙂 🙂

      Shana Tova,
      duby 🙂

       
  9. Sj Grossman

    September 18, 2011 at 1:25 am

    Duby, i think it would totally rock to have another Devorah/Shmully couple…just think of the comedic possibilities! (This IS you-all’s “twin couple” whose engagement was in close proximity to yours, yes? Oh, that could be fun! Hazani’s house is for sale…)

     
    • mrsduby

      September 18, 2011 at 1:34 am

      hey SJ
      yep yep — theres only ONE shmully and devorah — that shares with us our name, anniversary… and we sort of look similar. Imagine how confusing that could be?!

      At some point we’ll have to get them for a visit ! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
