RSS

Healthy Cookie Party !!! (recipe & photos!)

25 Aug

Guess what people? I finally made it into the kitchen and we had our Healthy Baking Cookie Party Smile I followed Dena’s basic Oatmeal Raisin Cookie recipe – along with her adaptations and it was a GREAT success.

To be truthful, I had VERY low expectations. I’m used to “weird healthy foods” – sourdough breads, sheep / and goat cheese, weird raw vegetable concoctions – so when it came to “healthy baking” I wasn’t expecting much. Boy was I SURPRISED! These cookies came out GREAT!!!!! And don’t take my word for it! We took the cookies on the road and had them tested by 2 kids, 1 teenager and one mother in law – all came back with raving reviews!

Below is the recipe along with many pictures of the whole process.

Dena’s Recipe & Notes:
Here is the official guideline for subbing honey for sugar: To use honey in place of sugar, use 7/8 cup for every cup of sugar, and reduce the liquid in the recipe by 3 tablespoons. I don’t measure exactly I just eyeball it 🙂

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies (adapted from The Kosher Palette)

1 c raisins

3/4 c margarine –> oil or butter

1 c brown sugar and 1/2 c sugar –> I’d do about 1 1/4 c honey. You could do 1.5 and it just may be a bit too sweet

1 large egg

2 tbs water

1 tsp vanilla extract

2/3 c flour (Duby used Almond Flour)

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking soda

3 cups oats

6 oz chocolate chips – I omitted and the cookies were still DELISH. the honey brings a really SWEET sweetness so you don’t really need the chocolate

preheat to 375 – bake 10 minutes (Duby: I found they needed a few more minutes) or until edges are light golden brown. bake using unbleached parchment paper (Duby: I didn’t have parchment paper so I just greased a regular cookie sheet)

When substituting, always check consistency and add a little extra binder, flour, oil, etc to adjust. Muffins, breads, and cookies require a thicker batter. Cakes would need a thinner batter. Think about when you’re making a Dunkin Heinz – what the consistency is like. Refer back to regular recipes you’ve made in the past to try to achieve similarities.)

Duby’s Notes:

Soooooo this was my very first experience using these kinds of ingredients. On one hand it was fun because we knew we couldn’t mess it up… but on the other hand, I didn’t know what to expect. Dena’s suggestion about consistency was EXCELLENT because in the end, the dough was VERY runny, so we added more flour to give it more cookie texture.

Working with the coconut oil was kind of funky (to say the least). The guy in the health food store told us that it’s more of a “shortening” feel versus oil. When I picked up the baked cookie, my fingers became oily so I’m not sure if that means I used too much of the oil.

Dena was also 100% right about the sweetness of the honey. Personally, I thought the cookies were extremely sweet and didn’t need the chocolate chips at ALL but the kids (and my mother in law) almost bit my head off when I suggested removing the chips from the recipe.

Mother In Law’s Know Best Smile

My Mother in law did suggest cutting out a bit of the honey as it felt a bit much. I think I agree. The cookies smelled and tasted like a Rosh HaShana honey cake. (Not that its bad – just to give you an idea). She also said that had I not told her beforehand they were “healthy” cookies, she would never have known. Would she serve them to guests? Sure – just play with the recipe some more to get it just right.

Kid Tested…

My 4 year old brother in law seemed to enjoy the cookie … he had no idea it was a “healthy cookie” as did my 7 year old sister in law. However, she did NOT like the raisins and tried to pick them out.

My 17 year old sister in law was successful in picking out the raisins. (what’s with this family and their animosity towards raisins? :):)) but overall everyone gave them 2 thumbs up.

I noticed that I wasn’t able to eat more than two cookies as they were very filling. (The in laws also only had one or two.) Of course, my husband was able to eat about 5-6 throughout the evening. (You gotta love the guy Smile)

There is one more thing I’d like to point out – and I think for many of us this is an issue.

PRICE: DSC_0162

Healthy baking (and cooking) does not come cheap. I am not the math wiz of the family – but just looking at the receipt from the store, it is obvious that a small batch of cookies is a LOT more expensive than cakes and cookies made from white flour and sugar. Something to keep in mind.

Duby’s bottom line:

Overall – HUGE success. Would I make them again? Definitely.

Would I make them ALL the time? No – I still maintain that honey juggles your blood sugar, and for me personally I don’t need the “nosh.” However, for a holiday, a Shabbos – I would DEFINITELY make them again. This is an excellent way for kids to have a treat – something special – without the sugar and white flour.

Thank you again Dena for the recipe and for the information!

Here are some pictures of our evening’s excitement.

DSC_0166

DSC_0167

DSC_0178

DSC_0180

DSC_0185

PS – feel free to make fun of my 1930’s Oven. After you finish, you can send a check to the “buy Duby a normal oven that fits more than one cookie tray at a time fund.” Thank you.

DSC_0186

DSC_0187

Voila!

DSC_0190

DSC_0192

Now to see if people actually like them!

DSC_0201

DSC_0207

DSC_0206

They look happy to me!

as the famous Borat would say: “Great Success!!!”

 
7 Comments

Posted by on August 25, 2011 in Physical Health

 

7 responses to “Healthy Cookie Party !!! (recipe & photos!)

  1. Dena T.

    August 25, 2011 at 2:55 pm

    hahah! Great post! I’m so glad you liked the cookies!!! This was a relatively easy one, hard to mess up. 😉
    I think it also came out very Rosh Hashana-ee because you used almond flour + honey. That’s a combo that would definitely give that flavor/smell. I’m so impressed you used the almond flour! I usually use a grain flour for this recipe!

    A note about coconut oil: in the summer it will be liquid, but in cooler temps, it will solidify quicker than other oils. Maybe that’s why the guy in the store compared it to shortening. When you used it, was it solid or liquid? It’s easier to work with when liquid, in my opinion, because this way you feel like you’re using any regular oil.

    You mentioned that once the cookies were baked they were very oily. Remember that when using honey, not only do you reduce the amount of honey (as compared to sugar amount) but you also need to reduce a bit of the liquid content, and oil counts for that, even if the coconut oil was solid. I think also what really made that happen was that you used the almond flour. Almond flour will not absorb liquid the same way a grain flour would, so I bet that was part of it.

     
  2. mrsduby

    August 25, 2011 at 4:08 pm

    file:///C:/Users/Duby/Desktop/healthy%20cookie%20party/DSC_0169.JPG

    dena – can you see this link? its a picture of the Coconut Oil.
    Its not an oil… but not as thick as Crisco. sort of congealed.

    Well, there is DEFINITELY a learning curve to all this … but like i said – i really was pleasantly surprised. I like using Almond flour – it slow carb – and i use it to bread chicken sometimes also.

    Youre a real pro at this … when we do we start compiling hte cookbook? (notice how im already assuming i will be doing it with you 🙂 🙂

    I plan to try your banana muffin recipe next!
    thansk again Dena …

     
  3. Ms. Eileen

    August 25, 2011 at 9:01 pm

    I am going to give the cookies a try. They look great and your taste testers are so cute!

     
    • mrsduby

      August 25, 2011 at 9:38 pm

      hi Ms. Eileen,
      thank you so much for your comment !!!!!

      Im not sure if i mentioned in the post — but i ended up using more almond flour than the recipe called for. In Dena’s comment, she explained that almond flour reacts with liquid differently – hence my batter was wet. When we added more flour, the consistency was better.

      Good luck — let me know how they come out!!!!
      and yes – the taste testers were MORE than happy to volunteer their services for the cause 🙂

      thanks for reading –
      duby 🙂

       
  4. Libby

    September 14, 2011 at 11:48 am

    loving those little litvins!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
