RSS

Happy Birthday To Meeee ….

20 Jul

omg-you-re-how-old-balloon-478-p

I wanted to take a moment and reflect a bit on my birthday. My English birthday was a little while ago  (the 6th) and according the Hebrew calendar – my birthday was this past Sunday. Which means, I am 29 years old.

As in … old fart.

As in … you’re basically 30 …

As in you’re an adult (holy cow – that’s the scariest one)

As in … maybe time to get rid of the stuffed animals and Muppet posters? (uhh hell no!)

While I love my birthday and all things associated with that birthday feeling (cake cake and more cake… presents, cards, balloons, parties etc.) there is a certain aspect of my birthday that I always found depressing. Call me morbid, but I always saw my birthday as a reminder that another year has passed and the question of “what have I accomplished?” looms over head. Before we turn around we’ll be grey haired and wrinkly and realize that time has passed and we didn’t properly seize it. I guess when my birthday rolls around that reminder slaps me in the face.

But something interesting happened this year.

You would think 29 is THE birthday. It’s the last one before the big 3-0 – that big scary number that looms ahead. (just by the way, I don’t at ALL feel like I’m a 30 year old … no freakin way. Catch me off guard and I will tell you I’m 24 — maybe.) But this year something different happened. I suddenly realized that there are certain things about getting older that I actually LIKE. For real.

I’ll break it down in my oh so favorite list form Smile

Getting older is better than I expected – here’s why:

1) The older I get the healthier I get. Sure, I had BOUNDLESS energy when I was “younger” – but I didn’t really take care of myself properly. I didn’t eat / sleep / exercise properly – nor take care of my emotional needs. As I get older I learn more and more about holistic and healthy living and they are not contradictory to a fun filled exciting adventurous life. This is the key – many adults get serious and boring and dull – but the more I learn from my natural health community the more I realize there is a joy in life that is much more mature and beautiful than that of an innocent child. The trick is to understand how to tap into that energy.

2) The older I get the BETTER I LOOK!!!! Ok ok – this is not the case for everyone. Lord knows I have GORGEOUS girlfriends – who looked hot in high school and on… but for me .. the older I get, the better I dress and the more I know what looks good on me. And that little thing called weight loss has been good to me. Feel free to find pictures of me in high school or when I was 19, 20, 21 – ehh … let’s put it this way, I’ve come a long way. (and possibly gotten a little vain in the process, but that’s for another time Smile )

3) The older I get, the more I realize what I love to do and what I am meant to do. When unpacking boxes I found this art project I made when I was 8 years old –called “ALL ABOUT ME.” Inside I wrote all about the things I loved to do (for those wondering, according to my 8 year old self, I loved swimming and writing). My 8 year old self wanted to grow up and become a singer or a dancer. Well, that didn’t happen obviously. But over the years, I have learned what I am good at and what I am terrible at (never ever let me teach preschool!) Life experience has taught me how to utilize my unexplored talents and it’s been wonderful.

Well, I am sure there are a million more reasons why getting older isn’t as scary as the world makes it out to be, and I would LOVE to hear from my “older” readers (as in older than 29 Smile) why YOU feel getting older is better….

Thanks again everyone for the birthday wishes – and of course it’s NEVER too late to send presents SmileSmile

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 20, 2011 in Mental Health, Misc. Ramblings

 

4 responses to “Happy Birthday To Meeee ….

  1. yossi dubov

    July 20, 2011 at 5:34 pm

    what a beautiful perspective, to age.

    to Quote:
    It’s not how many years you live,
    it’s how you live your years…

     
  2. shaina bodenheim

    July 20, 2011 at 9:15 pm

    Hey Duby,
    Thanks for your shout-out! I guess I’ve kinda been getting used to that larger, looming, frightening number since my hubby crossed the threshold almost two years ago. Now, I tease him that he’s (gulp!) “pushing 40!”
    But since 40 is like the new 30, it must make 30 the new 20, and in a year or two when we’re there it’ll already be pushed back to around 9 or 10, which is where my maturity level is stagnating anyway. Belated happy b-day and enjoy what’s left of your twenties cuz in a year or two you’ll be blogging about the best wrinkle creams and the benefits of botox;)

     
    • mrsduby

      July 22, 2011 at 1:12 pm

      Shayna,
      you my dear are absolutely hysterical!!!! (were you always this funny????? :)) So pretty much “old” is always older than we are right now. right?!

      thanks so much for reading and i appreciate your commentary —
      love,
      duby 🙂

       
  3. mrsduby

    July 22, 2011 at 1:11 pm

    Thanks so much for your comments Dad ….
    and yes — they all tell me “age is a mindset”
    (i think thats why i havent said my new tehillim yet, since its the strangest thing to be saying Lamed!!!)

    Thanks for reading –
    love,
    me 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
