RSS

Do You Wear Too Many Hats?

23 Jun

many hats“Duby, you haven’t blogged in ages!” My friend told me the other day. And sadly, she’s right. I’ve been detoxing and I haven’t given you, my dear readers a SINGLE update! Shame shame shame.

The truth is that a very auspicious day is coming up very soon on the calendar. Day Camp begins!!!! Over the past few weeks I have been volunteering and helping out my friends back in NJ with their camp as well as my sister in law’s camp here in KY. It’s been exhilarating to get back into the groove of camp, allowing my brain to flow with creative ideas, and help out with my organization skills. I felt more alive and very much connected to my roots of who I am.

However, with my brain thinking about arts and crafts and trips, it has been difficult to switch gears and blog about organic vegetables and detoxing!

My father in law talks a lot about how as a Rabbi he constantly wears many “hats” and must often switch roles, and hats without warning. For example – one minute he may officiate at a wedding and a few hours later going to a funeral. Talk about mixed emotions!

We all wear many hats…

But aren’t we all like that to some extent? Don’t we all wear many hats? Whether it’s dealing with our children, to dealing with our boss, to dealing with our bills, to dealing with family issues. We don’t run on automatic but must shift gears manually (personally- I never liked driving a stick shift Smile)

As busy adults, our days are often so busy (and nights as well) that things like our personal health and wellness gets shoved to the back burner only to be forgotten about. How many times have you told a friend, “I was so busy today, I FORGOT to eat!” For many of us, health is not our number one priority – because for many of us, it’s not a big deal to miss a few nights of sleep or to skip a few meals. At the end of the day, it just means taking an extra nap on the weekend or eating a bigger meal when we finally do have a moment’s rest.

However, no matter who you are or what your job responsibilities are – there is something that should never be on the back burner – and that is: taking time out just for YOU.

Taking Time for YOU

The other night, after finishing a very long camp meeting, and working online with a head counselor on some camp details, I looked at the clock and noticed it was after 1 am. Wow! I had worked so long, and loved it so much I hadn’t noticed how late it was. It’s 1 am, and I was only THEN beginning my nighttime routine – pajamas – brushing my teeth – the usual stuff. I got into bed and was WIRED. My brain was on overdrive and there was no slowing it down! I tossed and turned till 4 am …when I finally gave up and picked up a book – and I finally fell asleep around 5 am. (imagine how happy I was when my husband’s alarm clock woke me up at 6:15 am!!) But anyway, it was in those wee hours of the morning that it dawned on me why I don’t work for a stressful and demanding job anymore. Because I highly believe in taking time out for ME. Allowing myself downtime, and time to decompress after a long day, and allowing for proper routines that help me relax properly. These things are crucial for our physical health AND mental health. No matter who you are, or where you find yourself – these are important concepts never to ignore.

Bedtime Stories are More Than Just Entertainment…

Every parent has some kind of bedtime routine for their child – and every parent will tell you why they are so important. It helps the child wind down from a busy active day, so they can fall asleep properly. (after going to the bathroom and asking for a drink 20 times Smile) My point is, we adults need the exact same thing!! And I was reminded this uber important lesson the other night.

Sure, I love camp – always will. But no matter how much I love a job, it will never cause me to put my health on a back burner – because I value it too much now. So sure, I’ll always volunteer my hours and my creativity for an organization that I hold dear – but this time around – I’ll make sure to check the clock more often! Smile

Have a wonderful weekend my darling readers, I hope to be back to our regular blogging schedule next week!

PS – we are officially finished with our detox! (thank the good lord… only I have the talent of making a 3 week program into 6 weeks!) But we are finished now, and I look forward to giving a brief update on how it all went.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 23, 2011 in Mental Health

 

Leave a Reply

 
