RSS

Duby’s Best Kept Secret ….

06 Mar

moved picAbout 6 months ago, a friend of mine (for her own safety will remain nameless) made a comment to me:

“Duby, you cant keep a secret.”

Well, it was kind of fun proving her wrong Smile

In my personal life, I was never one to keep news quiet… for example: my friends all kept their dating life and engagements quiet … but me — my mouth couldn’t be any bigger, so my engagement wasn’t a surprise to anyone (except maybe to myself that I actually found a guy!) but the “keeping it quiet” was NEVER my style….

Until now.

Therefore, it is with great excitement, pleasure and RELIEF that I make my grand announcement to the mass public:

 We Moved !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

A brand new house in a brand new city !!!!!! Yep – you heard it here first folks (even before Facebook !!! Smile)

Yep – the 5 Pillars of Health will now be inspired and written from (drumroll please…)

Louisville, Kentucky !!!!!!!!

Home of the Derby, the Slugger baseball bats, and surprisingly – the Fried Chicken!!!!

So yes my dear readers, I know I haven’t blogged in quite some time, but I’m sure you will forgive me since my brain has been pre-occupied the past few weeks.

Ok, now lets get down to business. I am sure you all have some burning itching and scratching questions- so before you combust with curiosity, here are some answers to the popular questions Smile

1. Why Louisville?

Excellent question. I grew up in NY / NJ my entire life (my parents born and bred new Yorkers, I grew up in Joisy….) so why Kentucky? Well, the main answer is – the IN LAWS !!! (blame the in laws Smile) my husband lived in Louisville since he was about 2 years old (correct me if I’m wrong) and the holidays that I have spent here were wonderful. The city is great (yes, there IS a nightlife here!), the country side is beautiful, and well…. There just ain’t no rat race down here!!!

If you recall, a few months back I spoke about my frustration with the race many of us find ourselves in with corporate America and consumerism. That concept just doesn’t exist in the South (on the same level) as it does in the NY area. Life is slower, calmer, less stressful – and to me – that means healthier. Oh, and we were able to BUY a house with the same amount of money you would need as a deposit in the tri-state area! Need I say more?

2. Ok, so you’re in Louisville – what’s there?

I got this question from a few people already and it gave me a bit of a laugh. What’s here? Well, I guess you’re not wondering if there’s a Wal-Mart here right? Ok ok, I know what you mean. I’ll assume you’re wondering what’s here for a religious Jewish person.

– An eiruv – means no trapped at home with babies, or only walking to shul in flat shoes. I also am attached at the hip to my water bottle, so the eiruv has always been my friend.

– A beautiful mikvah

– A Jewish day school

– Anshei Sfard – Large Orthodox Shul with minyan 3x a day for over 118 years!

– A full JCC, Federation and other Jewish organizations with community events (Did mention that all these things are DOWN THE BLOCK FROM MY HOUSE ??!?!?!?!!)

– Kosher meat, chicken, cheese, deli, bakery etc etc etc…. in the local Kroger (grocery store)

– NO HILLS!!! As a girl that spent most of her life living in a house on a massive driveway that I always called “My Har Sinai” living on flat land is more like the promised land! Not having to worry about blisters in my shoes on Shabbos, no skidding down icy driveways and no worrying about my husband committing roller blade suicide.

3. How many “in laws” are there?

The in laws alone is quite a party…. All the married siblings have moved back to the Ville (and live around the corner from each other). The parents also down the block… a handful of teenager siblings (who are always entertaining) …. A bubby… and a few grandkids (and more on the way)… what can I say? …. There’s always someone to hang out with (or babysit if you’re interested)

4. So what are you going to do there?

Well, if you’re asking about a job, then you’re probably asking about my hubby – not me Smile As for the hubs, he’s going to continue doing exactly what he’s been doing the past 6 months. In his own brilliant words “have internet, will travel.” For more details on what my hubby does for a living (and how he pays for my purse fetish) you’ll have to check out HIS blog… although he hasn’t written one yet!

And as for me … I’d like to think of this as an opportunity to start over from scratch. A clean slate. I’ve done various things in the past and I know what I love and don’t love to do. I am therefore very much looking forward to continuing my blogging (and expanding it), and working on my many dream projects. Of course one of the first goals is to set up that organic vegetable garden in the backyard…. (and get a goldfish or two.) But first I need to unpack!

5. What’s the weather like in Kentucky?

Right, because this is a REALLY important question to ask Smile. The truth is the weather isn’t that much different than the NY area – but the winters here are shorter. Which means, (not that its hard to figure out) but the warmer weather continues later in the fall. (I’ve experienced 80 degrees on Sukkos) and the spring comes earlier as well. (according to accuweather website – in about 2 weeks we’ll have some sunny 70 degrees already….)

But just like everywhere else – good old “global warming” always puts a wrench in things – so some years there’s more snow, and some years there’s less.

6. So tell us about your house!

Ahhh, the good stuff. Ok, not that it has anything to do with my blog but since you’re probably curious – here’s a bit of information. It’s a 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom, ranch style house. (which means everything is one floor) There is a finished basement the size of the entire house – which is officially the “Man-Cave” – So the Wii, projector and “boy” stuff – goes there!!!! Smile The house is small and cute and I love it. It’s the perfect size for us and our upcoming goldfish and the backyard is great for the garden and future BBQ gatherings.

If you want nitty gritty details about property taxes and interest rates here in Louisville – you’ll have to ask someone else, cuz that’s the boring stuff Smile

7. So why the secrecy about the move?

Good question. One of my friends was so shocked by the news that she was sure it was a Purim joke. (Sorry Rochi!). After I finally convinced her I wasn’t kidding, she was amazed that I was able to keep such big news under the radar for MONTHS! And here’s why it was so important to do so.

We all have friends and loved ones. And with those friends and loved ones comes concern and inquiries of our well being. And with concerns and inquiry comes STRESS. It’s an interesting thing. When my hubby left his job in the city – I found myself answering the same 10 questions to about 50 different people. Every question came from the same place of love and concern, and I answered every single question. And I can tell you – it was exhausting.

Whenever there is a big change in life – whether the change is good, or not good – its natural to feel unsettled and ungrounded – like the world is in upheaval. Asking someone who is currently moving their entire house “how’s the packing going?” or “so when you guys moving?” – more often than not – these are incredibly difficult questions that adds more stress to an already emotionally and physically draining time. Sure, they may seem like innocent questions – but remember: it’s the same 10 questions being asked by 50 different people. (if you’re lucky its only those 50!)

Soooooo, after discussing it, my husband and I decided not to tell anyone about our move. And by anyone – I mean ANYONE. Of course, one or two people had to be told… and then one or two people found out (i.e. a neighbor saw the moving truck… or a friend coming to town and what a shock if when she comes to visit we weren’t there!) … but the amount of people who knew, can be counted on one hand, or maybe two. And each of them were sworn not to share the news, and more importantly – not to discuss it with us in casual conversation so as not to increase our stress.

Honestly, I don’t regret it for a minute. It was the smartest thing not telling our friends and extended family about our move – and I would do it again in a heartbeat. So maybe there is something to keeping my big mouth shut SmileSmile

8. And finally, I am sure you are all wondering: Are you going to miss NY / NJ ?

One of the first things that saddened me about leaving the NY area (and I kid you not) was leaving Z-100 and the morning Zoo behind. (the radio station) I’m NOT kidding!! Whenever I was away from home – I always felt a sense of relief when I came back into the NY vicinity and had MY radio stations back. While Louisville has a pretty good oldies station and I’m sure they have a “now” station… and Lord knows I’ll be indoctrinated by the country music stations – I will definitely miss all my preset stations in the car.

However: when I mentioned this VERY crucial thing to my hubby, he looked at me and said: “you do know you can listen to z-100 online right?” and a second later, I was a happy camper again SmileSmile

People!!!! Of course I will miss NY / NJ !!!! You think I can get away with “tawkin” like a “new yawker” down here in Louisville? As it is people think I have weird hang-ups because I’m a northerner (and I do! Like HELLOO??? The Yankees are the best team even if you don’t admit it!!!) I will definitely miss my awesome dad, and the rest of my family …. Our seriously awesome NJ neighbors (you know who you are 😉 everyone I grew up with, all my friends who live in NY…. And ya know – NY is the Big Apple — it’s the concrete jungle where dreams are made of… The streets make you feel brand new….the lights will inspire you … (oh wait, I think I’m getting distracted SmileSmile) But you get the point. NY is NY no matter where I live and there will always be that part of me that connects to the city (and Brooklyn) on an innate level.

On the flip side – growing up in suburban Joisy – I love the trees, and grass, FRESH air, and the family life with kids on tricycles in the cul-de-sac (or maybe that’s just a Desperate Housewives weirdness?) in any case, I have no doubts that I will fit right in beneath the Mason Dixon line and come to appreciate the southern – small town living, something I am looking forward to relishing in. (this is the part where my husband will comment with statistics that show that Louisville is one of the 10 largest cities in America and is no “small town” Smile)

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Well my friends, I guess that concludes a very long post about the very tiring and exhilarating last few weeks of my life. I am sure you will all understand if I am not “on schedule” with my next few posts as who knows how long it will take to unpack all our boxes!!! Or you never know … I may let my hubby do all the hard work and I’ll sit and blog all day!

Time to crank up the Garth Brooks and Keith Urban!!!!! (yes, I had to google those guys names…)

 
8 Comments

Posted by on March 6, 2011 in Misc. Ramblings

 

8 responses to “Duby’s Best Kept Secret ….

  1. Mushka

    March 6, 2011 at 2:08 pm

    I love this post Dubs… So happy for you guys, and the Louisville people! 🙂 Much love and support! xx

     
    • mrsduby

      March 6, 2011 at 3:47 pm

      thanks so much Mushka !!!! and i’m sure you’re already planning your next visit ? 🙂

       
  2. Sharon Stone

    March 6, 2011 at 4:37 pm

    Now U know why you said you would see me soon 2 days ago!!!

     
  3. Mickie

    March 6, 2011 at 8:58 pm

    Congrats on the move! We realized what you did about 15 years ago, and that’s how we got to Maryland. You’ll miss the selection of restaurants and maybe seeing some friends, but it’s all good – enjoy!

     
  4. Ellen Braverman

    March 7, 2011 at 12:22 pm

    Mazel Tov! We were wondering what happend to you! William, Jonathan and I wish you only the best things life has to offer — Good health, wonderful family (which sounds like you have already), safety and prosperity. Maybe we’ll come for a visit!!!

     
  5. Marci

    March 7, 2011 at 11:49 pm

    AHA!

    And now I’m flattered that you were disappointed to find out I live in Boston.

     
  6. Chanie P.

    March 9, 2011 at 1:07 pm

    Whoa!big news! That’s reaaly exciting. enjoy it there and best of luck with everything!

     
  7. Dini

    March 9, 2011 at 2:14 pm

    Wow, that is exciting news! Lots of luck in your new home and good luck unpacking those boxes!

     

Leave a Reply

 
