RSS

Babies, Babies and MORE Babies!!

08 Feb

funny-picturesI am not sure if you are aware or not, but we are currently in the middle of Baby Season. I’ve noticed that people seem to have babies in waves…. It’s quiet for a while, and then BOOM! The entire world is pregnant! (I’m determined something is in the water … or possibly a blackout over the entire NY area? Smile)

In any case, it all started with my brother 2 weeks ago – when they had a beautiful baby boy – and from there friend and after friend gave birth … and then cousins …. And my husband’s siblings are next on the list… so lots of babies, and lots of baby gifts!!!!! I should just order from Baby Gap in bulk.

So, in honor of ALL the babies, I’d like to share something my newly popped friend told me. A few months ago, we were talking about when she was due and how she was feeling (the normal conversations you have with pregnant people) and she told me that no matter who you are – how fashionable you are – no matter how put together you are – when it comes to the 9th month – you just LOSE it. You are on your last nerve, have zero patience or tolerance for anything, and you just want the baby OUT!

However, as wonderfully loving people are – never realize this (even people who have been through the same experience!) My friend told me about how people say the most insensitive and rude things: “are you in labor yet? How about now?” …. Or “You’re still around? You haven’t had your baby yet?!” …. Or her favorite “oh I tried calling you last night, but when you didn’t pick up I thought FORSURE you were at the hospital.” Good grief!!! Here you are, on your last nerve, there is nothing you want more than to get this creature out of you – and people are REMINDING you of your uncomfortable predicament.

Here’s the interesting thing … Since I’ve obviously never experienced the foot inmidhusbands the ribs, 9 months of waddling, or not being able to tie my own shoes, I can totally imagine myself asking my friends (or family members) these EXACT questions!!! I’m not sure if I ever did, but I can see myself saying it – in the most loving manner. Surely my friends know I’m just joking, and trying to lighten the mood, no? But after my preggo friend enlightened me, I realized how insanely insensitive such a comment would be. It would be like asking a fat person “how’s the chafing going?” ok, maybe not that extreme – but you get the point.

It’s amazing how we don’t realize that a little innocent comment on our part can make a huge impact on another person. And this could be for the good OR the not so good. I once made a comment to a friend of mine that I would move across country if it meant I would be at her simcha – and sure I was joking at the time with my casual comment, but it later came back to me that she was very touched at what I had said. It amazes me how much weight our statements carry – and can really build someone up, or the opposite.

I would like to wish a very very wonderful, amazing, heartfelt, (yadda yadda yadda) Mazal Tov to my dear friends & family members who have recently had babies… AND I would like to wish easy labors to those who are next on the “baby popping” list Smile

May I always have good news to blog about …..

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 8, 2011 in Emotional Health

 

2 responses to “Babies, Babies and MORE Babies!!

  1. shaina bodenheim

    February 8, 2011 at 5:58 pm

    Thanks for this duby. As someone who was late with both my kiddos I can definitely relate. Although, it’s important to realize that even though these comments might be annoying or insensitive, they’re often coming from a good place and from people that wish only the best for you. In the case of my second one I think everyone was rooting for me to make it in time for the tax deadline so we were fielding calls morning, noon, and night. (And yes, b”h we made it…she was born december 31 right before midnight…and that was two weeks late:)

     
  2. mrsduby

    February 9, 2011 at 6:00 pm

    Hey Shaina,
    hahaha I love hearing about your little “tax deductions” 🙂 and im super happy you made it in time for hte deadline !!!!!

    But didnt it bother you that people were reminding you of something that you obviously have NO control over ???

    thanks for the comment hon !
    duby 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
