RSS

With Great Blogging, Comes Great Responsibility

11 Jan

 

thank_you_for_noticingLast week I noticed that I lost 2 subscribers. I was ok with this because I had gained these readers during my Chanukah Giveaway and didn’t know either of these people personally. My hubby had warned me that people often troll the blogs for giveaways and once the contest is over they unsubscribe. It’s one of the things you learn when you get into the blogging world. However, on the flip side, while I contemplated my minus 2 readers, I had 2 random people on Twitter retweet my article on New Year’s Resolutions. While it’s always appreciated when my friends give a rave review on something I wrote it’s very exciting when people who you don’t even know give you a 5 star rating.

Anyway, I’m not sure if WordPress was acting a little funky or maybe they were doing some site changes – but today I went to my blog dashboard to see my stats and my number of subscribers (something I do every day.) Well, lo and behold my number of email subscribers jumped an extra 10 !!! How can that be?! Sure, one person hears of my blog through Facebook or something – or during my giveaway my numbers tripled, but in ONE day I got an extra 10 ?! So I did some investigating, and found that in reality WordPress WAS acting funky, because I never lost those 2 subscribers but I had now gained another 8 that I had never known about! Some of the email addresses my hubby is familiar with – but most of them we have no idea who they are. Nevertheless, I am extremely touched and grateful that they (you) have joined!

It really is moving and humbling to know that people VOLUNTARILY sign up to read what I have to say. I’m no doctor, I’m no therapist – I’m actually not even a college graduate (yet) but here I have a “following” of people who listen to my advice and experiences in health and wellness. I talk about what we should eat, how we should meditate and how to balance our busy lives…. And people seem to listen to what I have to say.

Therefore, it is with deep understanding that I have a great responsibility when I DO talk from my tuchiss Smile I work hard to check my facts and if I give opinions then I make sure to advise you that its merely my subjective feelings on the matter.

So, I would just like to take a moment and say thanks. Thanks for being such wonderful and loyal readers and followers… my dream and goal is to share my journey towards true health… and if I help someone make better choices or learn something new then I have accomplished that goal. And of course, if we have some laughs along the way, that can’t hurt either Smile

Thank you all – my fellow “pillars”

I remain humbled,

Duby

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 11, 2011 in Misc. Ramblings

 

4 responses to “With Great Blogging, Comes Great Responsibility

  1. Chanie

    January 11, 2011 at 3:13 pm

    You usually have a smart thing or two to say so I like reading! I especially like what you have to say about healthy eating. Keep it up!

     
  2. Marci

    January 11, 2011 at 4:49 pm

    Common sense doesn’t need a fancy, shmancy degree and living well, besides being the rest revenge, if often a matter of applying basic, logical principles.
    PS: Love the sign on this post!

     
  3. mrsduby

    January 12, 2011 at 9:53 pm

    Thanks guys !!! It means a lot 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
