RSS

Duby’s New Year’s Resolutions…

05 Jan

funny-new-year-s-resolutionsWhile I am normally very quiet about my resolutions and hachlatas, I thought it might be fun to share my 2011 New Year’s Resolutions because I enjoy sharing with you my experiences, and I never know – someone out there might have some tip or suggestion for me about my goals and that would be pretty darn cool Smile

So, in honor of 2011 – here are my New Year’s Resolutions – and like my blog, I have a goal for EACH Pillar (I’m cool like that)

Physical Health:

Going Organic!

I have recently been doing lots of studying on the subject of USDA certified organic foods vs. non-organic foods (including grains). Last month I also completed a detox which had me eating only 100% organic foods the entire duration of the program. (Note to self: write blog post about detox J)

While eating organic is preferred – obviously – it’s not the easiest thing to do because it’s not cheap! Having said that, my goal is to fully understand the differences between organic and non-organic foods, blog about my findings, and also study up on which foods it is crucial to eat organic, and which foods you can get away with eating non organic.

Which leads me to my second goal –

Time to Garden!

Plain and simple – I have a “black thumb” when it comes to gardening. My hubby bought me one of those kitchen herb garden thingys and I killed it within the first 3 hours (I’m still not exactly sure how I did that!) So my goal in the next few months is to study up and learn the basics of vegetable gardening, so when spring / summer comes – I can begin to plant! I know it won’t be easy but I am super excited to learn how to do it, practice and eat food that I have personally grown with my own 2 hands! (and with the help of G-d of course – oh and the hubby too) This will also hopefully help with cutting the veggie bill a little. I constantly read about the benefits of eating locally grown produce – so I’m willing to give it a try Smile

Mental Health:

Meditation Meditation Meditation!

I love meditation. I have a million awesome soundtracks to listen to. There are a plethora of wonderful benefits of meditation. It’s pure awesomeness. My problem? I have found that I only do my meditation on my way to snoozeland. While many of the guided meditation tracks are designed to listen as you fall asleep, in certain ways it defeats the purpose. Meditation is important to do WHILE you’re awake – so it trains the mind to quiet down – and giving that respite during the busy hectic day.

So my goal (drumroll) is NOT to meditate for hours every day (that would be the opposite of baby steps right?) My goal is to carve out a daily habit of meditating. Ten minutes DURING the daylight hours 1-2 times a week. (over time I hope to build on that) And of course, I will post about my progress. (gosh, I have so much to post about, eeks!)

Emotional Health:

“The Secret”

My goal in this category is about the Law of Attraction and Manifestation. I was recently introduced to this concept and am completely taken by it. I have learned that we have the power to manifest the life we want by using our thoughts and emotions. Briefly – the Law of Attraction means “like attracts like.” What we put out into the world, that is what we get back. If we give out negativity – then negativity will come back to us. If we give out positive vibes – then we attract positivity into our lives. Once we learn to utilize the power of our minds and hearts – it’s amazing what we can accomplish! My goal for this year is to continue studying up on this fascinating stuff.. and of course blogging along the way Smile

Spiritual:

Praying MY Way

There are oh- so- many things I can include in my “spiritual health” resolution since I’m a Jewish chick, but I decided on something small and simple. I decided to pray in English. A few years ago I started doing this – by choosing one portion of prayer and doing that prayer in English instead of the standard Hebrew – and I loved it. It was being re-awakened to the beauty of our prayers. I felt a deeper connection and I wondered why we don’t do it more often! For some reason over time I stopped reading the English but I have decided to re-introduce it into my routine.

I haven’t decided if it will be parts of davening, or possibly the daily tehillim in English, but I do know that our tefillos are so powerful – and our kavanos make a huge difference to our prayers. It is no doubt that praying in our own language can help with our concentration– so I say it’s time to bring back the English siddur man!

Recreational:

Nikon D60

I think this one is my favorite. I have found in recent years, that I only use my camera when there’s something “happening.” A wedding, a party, this was the only time I dug my camera out and put it to use. Well, I have found that when I snap pictures during every day happenings, the everyday feels more fun and a little less everyday J So as for my last and final New Year’s resolution – I hope to capture the every day moments even if I’m not all dressed up.

~ ~ ~ ~

Well there ya have it folks – my 2011 resolutions. I hope over the year I will blog about my progress and what I have learned!

Anyone care to share? What are YOUR New Year’s resolutions??

 

8 responses to “Duby’s New Year’s Resolutions…

  1. Shmully

    January 6, 2011 at 12:19 am

    And I resolve to support, financially, mentally and emotionally all of the above. And then maybe have time for some of my own.

    But seriously, I benefit from fresh veggies, quiet time when your meditating, not having to take pictures always, more spiritually in the house…and you know I say manifest destiny baby!!

    Good Luck…maybe I will have to guest post about your adherence to your hachlatas.

     
    • mrsduby

      January 8, 2011 at 11:21 pm

      Shmully,
      heres a fun idea –
      you should do a guest post about what you’ve learned living with the health nut formally known as Duby ….

      the theme of your post can be how you used to view medicine and healthy living, to how those views have changed…. (ooh , totally loving this idea!)

       
  2. Marci

    January 6, 2011 at 8:03 am

    I’m not convinced that there are health benefits from “organic” vs other types of food. I am a believer in buying local fruits and veggies, and I luckily live in a place where a bit over half of the year, veggies are farmstand fresh, or I get them from Hoppie’s garden or his parents. But the benefits of that are less about organic farming and more about lack of transportation and the problems that need to be overcome to transport food.
    When a vegetable is bred to be marketed and sold, I think it’s bred for heartiness primarily and taste secondarily. When it’s bred to sell locally, heartiness is less important, and taste if paramount. I’m not convinced that a tomato that is organically grown has greater nutritional value than a “conventionally” grown one. I was just watching a Penn & Teller episode where they discussed this and produced their usual plethora of experts to show that there weren’t any measurable differences. Insecticides are used in both organic and conventional growing, unless otherwise specified, so that’s a wash. (sorry for the pun)

    This resolution might be worth examining more closely to find out whether there really are health benefits to organics and which “organic” foods actually have those benefits.

    As to my resolutions, this year, I didn’t make any. I’m still working on resolutions from last year. I could have re-upped my commitments explicitly, but that seemed redundant. I’m absolutely committed to improving my mental and physical health by any means necessary; including but not limited to, healthy diet, exercise, therapy, massage, work/life balance, scheduling time for me, scheduling time for me and my husband to spend time alone together, scheduling time to see my family, scheduling time to see his family, and making time for my friends.

     
  3. mrsduby

    January 8, 2011 at 11:20 pm

    Hi marci,
    I LOVED Your comment — and i shall tell you why 🙂

    a) You are 100% right about the Organic. I recently read an article (sadly) that even the USDA Organic seal of approval is suspect. Also, shmully did some research and found out that there are organic pesticides which are legal- and still fall under the category of Organic — and these “organic” pesticides are just as unehalthy and harmful as the non-organic ones. SOOO, long story short, there is MUCH to be said about eating “locally” — even if the locally grown isnt officially organic.

    b) another thing you said about food being grown for heartiness — sadly- i JUST read over Shabbos a book about gardening and the author was saying this exact thing. He said that becasue the produce needs to be packaged according to supermarket containers and needs to be shipped long journeys therefore it needs to grow to certain sizes and have different texture – which throws taste and quality out hte window.

    c) so, about my resolutions – without a question i would love to learn how to grow some of my own salad veggies – (maybe Hoppie can teach me a bit ? 🙂 and i will definitely be researching more about Organic foods — heres the thing though — even with Organic being suspect — without a doubt i see a difference in texture and taste (i did a taste test once between non-organic Strawberries and organic ones and the taste was incredible!) so there is something to be said about the USDA label……

    and so the research continues 🙂

    And Marci,I LOVE your resolutions !!!!!! They are so in line with my blog 🙂 🙂 —
    Have a wonderful New Year —
    duby 🙂

     
  4. Marci

    January 11, 2011 at 4:46 pm

    I’m happy to volunteer Hoppie to you anytime you want. He’s always happy to talk gardening. I sorta tune out, even though I love the results. He’s fantastic with okra, garlic, zucchini, and summer squash. Not so good with cucumbers. Eggplant we can usually get one or two and tomatoes seem heavily dependent on the year.

    This year we grew corn in an earthbox (http://www.earthbox.com) and it was FANTASTIC. Our first foray into corn because our house is situated on rocks. The Earthbox system was really a wonderful purchase.

    We also bought a topsy turvy tomato/pepper grower, and that wasn’t nearly the success, so don’t waste your time on that one.

    We don’t use pesticides in our garden, other than sometimes soapy water to clear off the small bugs, or beer to feed the slugs (they’re keen on Budweiser. Hoppie keeps a case ’round for them) and we do have to be mindful of deer and rabbits, although the geese and foxes don’t seem particularly interested in our garden, so that’s good.

     
  5. mrsduby

    January 12, 2011 at 9:52 pm

    Hi Marc,
    well, i may just take you up on the offer and Hoppie will become my official gardening teacher 🙂

    Someone suggested that i look into using “Square Foot Gardening” – heres the link: http://www.squarefootgardening.com/ have you ever heard of it? Thoughts ?

    thanks!
    duby 🙂

     
  6. Marci

    January 13, 2011 at 3:24 pm

    Another thing you can look into, particularly in NY, where I imagine this happens quite a bit, is buying a plot in a garden co-op. You grow whatever you want, and so does everyone else and leave your surplus for other people (and pick up other people’s surpluses).

    My gf has one here, and has traded peppers and tomatoes for beans and lettuces and herbs (and probably other stuff she didn’t share with me, the rat!)
    I’ve not heard of Sq. Foot gardening, but I’ll ask Hoppie. He’s more up on gardening trends. My job is purely acquisitions.

     

Leave a Reply

 
