RSS

What was the Most Important Purchase of Your life?

07 Dec

 

memory-foam-mattress-buying-onlineSomething interesting happened the other day – and I couldn’t resist sharing it. (ok, it’s not THAT exciting – but I still consider it worth sharing Smile)

In honor of Chanukah and my hubby’s birthday, he decided that he wanted to purchase a new mattress. I gotta tell you, buying a mattress, as easy as it sounds, is really difficult! There are a million names out there, so many different styles and picking one is not easy. Consumer Reports is surprisingly not very helpful, and regardless of the mattress you buy, it can be super pricey, so you want to choose wisely.

“A mattress is the most important purchase of your life!”

Having said that – on our dresser this morning, I saw the papers that my hubby brought home from his visit to the mattress store and the top brochure caught my eye. In big bold black ink – the brochure read “a mattress is the most important purchase of your life!” and underneath it gave a statistic how we spend about 1/3 of our lives in bed hence therefore, buy a good bed! At first I chuckled at that statement – of ALL the things I buy in my lifetime, you’re telling me that my BED is the MOST important? I mentally scanned all the expensive and ‘important’ items we buy (diamond engagement rings, sheitels, new car, new home) and yet the New Bed just didn’t seem to rate that huge on the Richter scale.

Every Purchase Becomes a Midlife Crisis!

After I finished chuckling at the incredulous statement – it reminded me of the insane world of advertising and how it trains us to look at “stuff.” A simple bed is turned into a huge purchase and a midlife crisis because after all “it’s the most important purchase of our life!” Why is there such great importance being put on purchases all the time? It’s just stuff – it’s not the end of the world! Is it a big deal if I buy the “wrong” bed?! Is my life over? I know I’m taking it to an extreme, but it’s a certain attitude when it comes to our very “important” stuff.

An old classmate of mine –from oh so many years ago – taught me such a wonderful lesson. The story takes place in Century 21 here in NJ – when my classmate was engaged and doing some last minute shopping before her wedding. I was tagging along – and being 2 years younger than her and nowhere in the mindset of getting married, it was all very “out there” for me. As we were browsing the lingerie section (I’m not kidding, she needed a nightgown J), we were chatting about the stuff she had purchased for her new apartment. She made it seem so easy to buy all the stuff – like crossing simple things off a list. I remember asking her, “wasn’t it difficult picking out dishes? I mean, these are dishes you are going to be using for the REST of your life!!! You can’t just quickly buy them!” I mean – these were IMPORTANT decisions and IMPORTANT purchases! (nuts, I know Smile) and I’ll never forget what she answered me. She said “everything in life is replaceable except for the guy.”

What an awesome lesson that still rings true today. Of course we believe that we put people before stuff – but do our actions emulate that belief?

Do we put people before things? 

The other day I took the clothes out of the dryer and realized that I had ONCE again accidentally left my jean skirt in the dryer and it shrunk. I was so upset because it is now about an inch or two shorter than when I first bought it. Nothing gets me more upset than a “less than long” jean skirt, and now I had to live with the consequences. The skirt is on the newish side and well, I was upset! (think of your favorite sweater getting a stain on it just a few months after purchasing.) So I told the hubby about my stupidity for forgetting the skirt in the dryer – and guess what his response was?! He said “ok, we’ll get you a new one.” That’s it. No, “next time I’ll remind you.” No, “oh well… sorry that happened.” And No, “maybe next time you buy a skirt, get a longer one in case it accidentally shrinks…” Nope. It was simply “we’ll buy you a new one.” It was the attitude that stuff isn’t important. If the skirt doesn’t work, we get you a new one. It’s NOT the end of the world because people are more important than stuff. (PS. I DID purchase a new skirt, according to my hubby’s suggestion – including a 20% discount thanks to Black Friday – AND the skirt is a “tall” so in case it shrinks – it will still be fine!)

It’s not the end of the world because it’s JUST stuff. It’s a problem when we give stuff TOO much importance. And without a doubt – it’s JUST a mattress and is DEFINITELY NOT the most important purchase or decision of my life.

So thank you Sleepy’s for reminding me that very crucial life lesson.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on December 7, 2010 in Mental Health, Spiritual Health

 

6 responses to “What was the Most Important Purchase of Your life?

  1. Chevee

    December 7, 2010 at 3:15 pm

    Love it!! Btw, we just bought mattresses– the W hotel beds are amazing!!!!!!!!!! Meir found a great deal-can ask him if ur interested!

     
  2. mrsduby

    December 7, 2010 at 3:16 pm

    i was actually hoping someone would give a good suggestion on beds 🙂

    we didnt end up getting the sleepys one (and we said goodbye to the black friday deals) but i’ll pass the message along to Shmully.

    thanks!

     
  3. shaina bodenheim

    December 7, 2010 at 3:38 pm

    thanks for putting things into perspective dubes! i kinda had a similar incident occur, although mine was about 4 years ago, shortly after i got married. My husband had put his new chasuna suit in the hamper, and rather than sort things out to go to the cleaners, I simply turn the basket upside down into the machine and wash it all…you guessed it–i washed his new expensive chasuna pants that he had only worn once. His response was “okay, it’s a loss, but I’ll see what the cleaners could do and maybe get a replacement.” long story short, but he never was able to salvage or replace those pants, and despite that, I have warm and fuzzy feelings whenver i see them getting dust in the closet, cuz he made feel okay about what i did and showed me that his priorities are what they should be!

     
  4. yossi dubov

    December 7, 2010 at 7:19 pm

    isn’t there a famous line from the famous Suzy Ormand
    “people first, things second”

     
    • mrsduby

      December 8, 2010 at 8:30 am

      hey dad,
      thanks for hte comment! Yes, this post was based on her famous saying “People first, then things, then money.” she closes out every show with that sentence and then tells everyone to “stay safe.” 🙂 🙂

       
  5. Avrumie

    December 8, 2010 at 2:28 pm

    In theory a bed is the most important purchase because from there a lot of other more “important” and expensive purchases are agreed on (giggity, giggity, giggity, goo)

     

Leave a Reply

 
