RSS

Leaving the Rat Race…

01 Nov

I know I haven’t blogged in a while – and in my latest post, I explained that there was a lot going on in my life. Sadly my blog had to be put on the back burner for a little while. But have no fear, I haven’t forgotten all of you – my loyal readers – nor will I become like many other bloggers out there who tend to fizzle out after a few months, dropping the blog entirely. In fact, the other day a friend of mine told me she was in the mood of reading a new post of mine, but sadly I’ve been MIA for a bit. But now I’m back!!!!!!!!!

Today I want to talk about the Rat Race. Well not really the actual Rat Race (maybe I’ll save that for another day) – but I’d like to talk about LEAVING the Rat Race 🙂

For the past 5 years, my darling hubby has been ascending the corporate ladder … every morning like clockwork he commuted to the holy city of Manhattan – and right in the hub of it all – where things HAPPEN – he spent his days, working, working and working…. He loved many aspects of his job (especially wearing those really fancy suits and ties :)) but more importantly, he enjoyed working in a field he loves and enjoyed reaping the rewards of his hard work. Pay raises each year, good health benefits, a solid 401k plan, and every Yom Tov off (including Chol Hamoed!) – who could ask for anything better? My hubby – a super smart and amazing dude –with each passing year, as his responsibilities, hard work and loyalty increased, so did his positions and titles… long story short – it was the American Dream (more or less.) The money was good, the job was stable, and in our weak economy today, who in their right mind would WILLINGLY leave a job with so many positive aspects?!?!

And this is why I want to talk about the Rat Race….. just yesterday I was chatting with a friend of mine about this very thing – the American Dream of working your way up the corporate ladder – getting the large corner office – the luxury car (and a minivan for the wife :)) a nice house in the suburbs .. etc etc.. you get the point 🙂 But then we started talking about the downside of this so called “dream” and how it pertained to a mutual friend of ours…. Along with the luxury cars and the nicer homes and clothes – suddenly also came sacrifices such as: long commutes, long hours at the office – resulting in less quality time with your family – and the number ONE on the list:  more stress = compromised health. Somehow the American Dream can be looked at as the American “Nightmare.”

So after 5 years – my husband said goodbye to his corporate life… the life that forced him to spend 3 hours every day traveling to and from the city. But more importantly he just wasn’t happy anymore. He looked beyond the paycheck and realized that he wasn’t fulfilled in what he was doing. Every week revolved around the weekend – and he knew that it was time for change.  And change is exactly what he did. This past Friday was his last day in the Rat Race and I couldn’t be more proud of his decision. It takes guts and balls to be able to stand up and decide to go against the grain of what the rest of society is following and doing. So I am so happy to say that we have officially left the Rat Race 🙂

In my next post I will continue to discuss the “Rat Race,” a much loved topic of mine 🙂 .

 
5 Comments

Posted by on November 1, 2010 in Emotional Health, Mental Health, Physical Health

 

5 responses to “Leaving the Rat Race…

  1. shlomofi

    November 1, 2010 at 9:55 pm

    Hey, I’m very happy that things turn out so well for him, S you got an amazing wify!

     
  2. Shmully

    November 1, 2010 at 10:21 pm

    Thanks Shlom!

    One thing leaving the rat race, as it is, is that you appreciate the friendships that kept you sane while there. We will be in touch!

     
  3. Sara Rockoff

    November 2, 2010 at 4:41 am

    Well… Mazel Tov! I WISH I had a job!! You are right though… everything IS a trade-Off.

    Good for you that you have created a life where you have choices… Some of us are not so fortunate (I take full responsiblility for my lack of choices)… but the pity pot is sometimes quite comforting.

    Anyhow… Good for you!!! Curious what you are going to do now? I’m sure you have something lined up!!

    Best…

    Cousin Sara in Cali

     
  4. Splattman

    November 2, 2010 at 9:53 am

    Congratulations Sam!
    As another that doesn’t miss the commute, i know this will be the smart move for you!

     

Leave a Reply

 
