RSS

Winds of Change…

31 Aug

Hands down, my very favorite month of the entire year is September – and in the Hebrew calendar – Elul.

For those who know me well, might guess that I love this time of year because this month also serves as my wedding anniversary month – but I can assure you it has nothing to do with that (although at the time, I might have decided to get married in September because I loved it so much J) But no, September to me has some wonderful elements going on that I often wish I could bottle up and keep them for the rest of the year.

It’s a Time of Change & Transition

The summer has officially ended and the new school year is beginning. New classrooms, new teachers, new SCHOOL SUPPLIES! (I’m a school supply junkie :)) For those of us not in school there is still a sense of change – and we get that from the shift in seasons. The weather starts to cool off; jackets start to come out of the closets and with that, the attitudes change along with them. Suddenly days of laying on the beach or poolside are no longer… vacations are ending and time to “get back to work” and gear up for the New Year.

Rosh HaShana helps kick us into gear… I love this time of year because the entire atmosphere seems to scream “NEW.” I love tapping into this “energy” by coming up with new ideas, new projects and new goals for year that lies ahead. September holds such wonderful promise of what this new year will hold for us – the new challenges – the new adventures and I love nothing more than getting ready to live it all! So granted, I might not be sharpening my pencils and cleaning my uniform skirt for my first day back with my Morah – but September for me will always hold that wonderful feeling of “fresh and new.” The possibilities of a clean slate with the chance to start all over again. Putting the past year (with its mistakes) in the past, and an opportunity to try again!

Do you get that same feeling when September comes? (aside from dread at having to deal with getting the kids off to school every day :))

Wishing you all a wonderful September – and a terrific new year!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 31, 2010 in Misc. Ramblings

 

5 responses to “Winds of Change…

  1. Shmully Litvin

    August 31, 2010 at 1:57 pm

    Hello there my prolific wifey!

    First of, you are constantly sharpening pencils. In fact, I think you went through 3 pencils yesterday just to hear the whine of the sharpener, and to smell that pencil sawdust….but seriously….eh, why be serious? This is truly an amazing time, when we have the ability to jump higher while leaving the past behind! It’s like being about to start working out and automatically lose that weight! (Rosh Hashana wish one!)

    Your wonderful blog is a source of enteration….my latest word creation!

    Keep it Up!!

     
    • mrsduby

      August 31, 2010 at 6:01 pm

      hi Shmully,
      thanks so much for your comment !!!!
      I confess – it is true – that no matter how old i am , i’ll always have do my “back to school” shopping – which means NEW pencils !!!!!!! (ya know when i was a kid my mom used to joke that i ate them…. eeks!)

      keep reading!
      Duby 🙂

       
  2. Chevee

    August 31, 2010 at 6:47 pm

    I am also a school supply junkie!!! Nothing like a box full of Crayola crayons with the perfect, never used tips:)

     
  3. mrsduby

    August 31, 2010 at 6:49 pm

    hi Chevs,
    Ya know – now that youre an adult, i think we can let you use the markers 🙂

    haha ….

    thanks for reading!
    duby 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
