RSS

“If it Tastes Good, Its Probably Not Healthy!”

17 Aug

I have a neighbor (no not that one) – and she is an AMAZING cook. I’m talking HEAVEN FOOD. Whenever we get invited to go for a Shabbos or Yom Tov meal, I make sure to be good and hungry – because I know it’s going to be a button popping meal! And, they never disappoint. From salad through dessert, it’s all great stuff.

They have a motto I’ve heard on many occasions: “If it tastes good, it’s probably not healthy!” Although they don’t put sugar in the salad Thank G-d (click here to read my rant on people who do that….) but some of their recipes are a bit far from healthy. My friends classic chicken recipe is doused in sugar (but oh- so- good) and her salmon sauce also has some mysterious ingredients that I probably would be better off not knowing!

So, the question remains – CAN something be yummy AND good for you? In my expert opinion (hehe) – the answer is: Yes and No. (haha)

I think that when we have been eating processed foods, sugary sodas, snacks, treats and all those “yummy” goodies – we have a certain taste for them, and no “diet” or “sugar free” ice cream is going to cut it. However, on the flip side, if you’ve been staying away from all things sugar and sweet for a week or two – and then suddenly you have a strawberry it’s like you’ve had the sweetest thing in the world! (trust me, I’ve tested this theory and its true). When you’ve been dieting and staying far away from the dessert table – and then suddenly someone gives you a sugar free treat (or candy, or cake etc.) – it really does taste yummy and delicious!

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t really advocate sugar free – aspartame – ice cream and cakes – (I’ll discuss that in another post) – but for someone who doesn’t eat anything sweet, a sugar free snack can be the most delectable thing!

So now I ask YOU – my readers – What do you think? Is it possible for something to be really scrumptious and healthy at the same time?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 17, 2010 in Physical Health

 

One response to ““If it Tastes Good, Its Probably Not Healthy!”

  1. mrsduby

    August 18, 2010 at 3:02 pm

    Duby, premise of sheitel article was good, and I definitely agree with the toothpaste situation. but hat hair is not my problem, and my hair is always frizzy and I always used grocery store shampoo at under 3$ a big bottle, but covering my head is just uncomfortable. I also look to remove head covering as soon as I am able (and often before). oh and in regard to your food article,yes, healthy can be delicious, ask my family and I have akickass recipe for oatmeal chocolate chip cookies to prove it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
