RSS

Why Must You Do That??

25 May

While the goal of my blog is to educate or just shed a little light on some concepts in health – tonight I just need to vent a little. (just a smidge)

My vent is quite simple. STOP PUTTING SUGAR IN SALAD DRESSING!!!!!!! I wish I could scream this from the rooftops… literally. It pisses me off to no end. When I sit down to a Shabbos / Yom Tov meal (or whenever), I know that I will be forced to make some serious choices. I know that the meal will consist of bread… and possibly some rice or potato dishes… possibly some kugel situations (there goes the chance of eating a veggie)… so from the get go, I know that there are things I’d rather not eat. And so by process of elimination – I stick with the healthy stuff. And by healthy it usually means the simple proteins – such as the fish… or the chicken… or the meat. It is a RARE occasion that I’ll find a simple vegetable that isn’t doused in a dressing, or in the form of a kugel….

But let’s get back to the stupidity of the sugar in salad dressing… (you probably think im being harsh for calling it stupid – but there really is no other word to describe it.) If the ONLY thing you will be eating that is purely healthy and NOT in a kugel/breaded form is the salad course , WHY OH WHY must you ruin it by putting a sugary dressing on it???? Why must you take away the salad as well??? Its like fooling yourself into believing the carrot muffins you’re serving are really a side dish! Leave the sugar to your chocolate cake and other desserts… but leave the salad to us healthy people who still care about what we eat !!!!!!!!! LEAVE THE SALAD ALONE !!!!! (I should make picket signs)

So who is to blame for this stupidity? Well, I’ll tell you. Her name is Susie Fishbein. (pause for dramatic effect) ….

YES !!! I put a large part of the blame on this chef. A bunch of years ago, Ms. Fishbein came out with a bunch of gourmet kosher cookbooks… gorgeous pictures of heavenly looking dishes… from appetizers to desserts she really showed that entertaining and cooking doesn’t have to be just “meat and potatoes” but that our Shabbos and Yom Tov dishes can look beautiful, professional and truly gourmet. (which of course impresses our guests). And what will you find in almost ALL her basic salad recipes?? SUGAR. And we’re not talking a small teaspoon…. Some of these recipes call for ½ cup of sugar!! I am NOT kidding you.

Now, for all of you who are going to tell me “its ok, I use splenda!” I am going to tell you that in reality, that doesn’t make it any healthier… but I’m going to save that for another post.

And so, what Ms. Fishbein ingrained in us is that in order for our salads to be yummy and delicious, and look beautiful on the plate, they need to be filled with freakin sugar !!!!!

There you have it people. A simple rant on this stupidity…

so please, please, LEAVE THE SALAD ALONE!!!! 🙂

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 25, 2010 in Physical Health

 

3 responses to “Why Must You Do That??

  1. splattman

    May 25, 2010 at 2:47 am

    But it makes it taste pretty!

     
    • mrsduby

      May 25, 2010 at 2:48 am

      yeah, i’ll never forget the first time i experienced these types of salads… i actually got tipsy from overdosing on the red wine vinegar in it. (im crazy i know)

       

Leave a Reply

 
