RSS

Things Aren’t Always As They Seem….

09 May

Ya know how when we are small children, our parents and teachers try to impart this very holy attitude that “things are not as they seem.” The goal in teaching this to small children is to show them that its whats on the inside that counts… looks aren’t everything… and usually they want us to learn that being a kind and good person is certainly more important that being pretty, or thin, or having nice things.

Well isn’t it interesting how this lesson is pervasive to more than just good looks vs. kind hearts – this includes EVERYTHNG – from how a marriage can seem from the outside, to how happy a person may be, and in connection to my blog – how healthy one is.
Lets look at some fun examples.

You check out your friends facebook pictures and you instantly get jealous because they spent the summer in Europe… or perhaps they are booking tickets to California to visit their family and they are super excited – which of course, makes you more depressed. “boy I wish I had the money to take lavish trips…” or perhaps “it sucks I don’t have family to visit and hang out with…” the list goes on and on… and we’ve all been there. But lets not forget the lesson – things are not always as they seem.

Ok heres example number two, we’re all guilty of.

You hang out at your friends house for a Shabbos and you see how awesome their life seems. Gorgeous house, adorable kids… everyone’s dressed well… yummy food… and your friend pulls it all off with ease. You wish you could have the good job, or the nice clothes… or even on a less materialistic level – you wonder how they are able to accomplish so many good things – These people look like they have it all together… lest we not forget – things are not always as they seem.

My third example – and my favorite – comes from a blog I recently read. The woman was describing her battle with Fatigue. Fatigue is an awesome topic, but I’ll save that for another day – my point that I want to bring out from that blog – is the common feeling that most people who suffer from fatigue (and other similar kinds of issues) – all experience this same thing: you don’t LOOK sick. You don’t even SEEM sick. The person looks great – and healthy – and smiling – but yet there is an underlying condition going on… And that’s the funny thing about many illnesses – things are not always as they seem.

A few months ago I went to a wedding, and I especially didn’t feel that great that day – yet I went to the wedding anyway. Actually – I looked awesome that day. My makeup was flawless, my hair was perfect, and the dress I wore made me look …well let’s just say – I was very happy with the overall appearance. I got compliments up the whazoo that night – and I love looking at the pictures from that night, because well, I looked great. But isn’t it funny that I felt terrible?? I might have looked great – shining – glowing even etc etc etc… but yet I felt like crap, and all I wanted to do was go home and climb into bed. But yet, you’d never know it… because like I said – things aren’t always as they seem.

What a lesson…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 9, 2010 in Physical Health

 

Leave a Reply

 
